Four senior Carnatic music artistes honoured

Sri Thiagaraja Sangeetha Vidwath Samajam, Mylapore, on the occasion of Sri Thyagaraja jayanthi celebrations, recently organised an impressive function.

Dr.K. V. S. Gopalakrishnan, former DGP, inaugurated the event and honoured a few artistes –  vocalists O. S. Thiagarajan and Nirmala Sundarrajan, violinist M.A.Krishnaswamy and mridangist Thiruvaarur

They were given the ‘Sangeetha Seva Nirata’ awards.  The ‘Kala Seva Nirata’ award was presented to Samajam’s treasurer S. Madhavan.

Samajam president Dr.T. V. Gopalakrishnan presided  and felicitated the awardees. Madurai Rajaram, secretary of the Samajam welcomed the gathering. The function was well co-ordinated and compered by Namagiri Ramesh.

Then followed a concert by Dr.T. V. Gopalakrishnan’s – consisting of Sri Thiagaraja kritis, he was accompanied by M. A. Krishnaswamy on violin, Sherthalai R. Ananthakrishnan on mridangam and Madipakkam Murali on ghatam.

The pandemic conditions reduced the fest to just one event.

  • Report and photo by D. S. Rajagopalan