Kartik Fine Arts sabha celebrates its 47th anniversary; presents awards to artistes

Kartik Fine Arts (KFA) sabha celebrated its 47th anniversary last week at the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan’s auditorium in Mylapore. The sabha honoured veteran and senior artistes with the Kartik Lifetime Achievement awards and Kartik Awards of Excellence respectively.

Nadaswaram exponents Sheik Mahaboob Subhani and  Kaleeshabi Mahaboob, violinists Mysore Nagaraj and Manjunath (in absentia), theatre artistes S. N. Parvathi and ‘Manager Cheena’ were presented Lifetime Achievement awards. Kartik Awards of Excellence were presented to vocalist Amritha Murali, mridangist Neyveli Venkatesh (through his disciple), Bharathanatyam artiste and teacher Kalaivani  Rajmohan ( who was here from Delhi), theatre artistes P. T. Ramesh, ‘Port Trust’ Srinivasan and theatre technician ‘Cheta Ravi’.

Lifetime achievement awards carried a purse of Rs. 25000 each and Awards of Excellence Rs. 15000. The awardees were also presented citations and shawls.

The chief guest, R R Sabha’s president A. R. Santhanakrishnan presented the awards.  Earlier, KFA secretary D. S.Rajagopalan welcomed the guests and outlined the the activities of sabha. Sabha secretary R.Sekar proposed a vote of thanks.

The award function was followed by a Namasankeerthanam performance by Visalur Ravi Bhagavathar and his artistes.

Join the Conversation, leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *