Mylapore teachers honoured with ‘Dr. Radhakrishnan Award’

Two teachers from the neighbourhood schools were awarded with the best teacher award by the state government on Teachers Day, September 5.

V. S. Thomas, Assistant Head Master of Santhome Higher Secondary School and Mary Ramola Samuel, Headmistress of C. S. I. St. Ebba’s Girls Higher Sec. School, Mylapore was felicitated with the best teachers award.

They were among the 370 teachers who were felicitated on that day. C. Ve. Shanmugam, Minister for School Education presented them with the ‘Dr. Radhakrishnan Award’.

This award consists of a certificate, a silver medal and a cash award of Rs.5000.

Mary Ramola Samuel has been the Head Mistress of St. Ebba’s School for the last 5 years. She has a total experience of 33 years. She teaches English for higher secondary students. She currently resides in Mylapore.

V. S. Thomas teaches commerce and accounts. He has been the Assistant Head Master of Santhome H. S. School for the last 8 years. He has been teaching for the last 31 years and is a resident of Pudupalli Street, Mandaveli.