Chettinad Vidyashram, San Thome school teams to star in final of TNCA cricket tourney

Two Mylapore zone school cricket teams – Chettinad Vidyashram and San Thome Hr Sec. School will battle it out in the final of the TNCA tourney for under 16 school level players.

The final is on January 27 at the SPIC-YMCA ground in Nandanam.

In the semis held on Wednesday, San Thome beat Don Bosco, Egmore while Chettinad Vidyashram beat PSBB from K K Nagar. Both matches were played at St. Bede’s ground, San Thome.

The San Those versus Don Bosco duel was a close match. Batting first, San Thome scored 219 runs in their 50 overs and then managed to freeze the Egmore schoolboys at 216 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

P Ajit Kumar of San Thome scored 43 runs off 57 balls and later, took 3 key wickets to get his team to win finally. R Kamalakannan, his team mate scored 42 runs in 22 balls, wit one six and 6 fours. That quikcfire innings made a difference (photo on top).

In the other match, PSBB batted first and rattled up 202 runs in the 50 overs, a tad less to challenge the Chettinad team.

The team from the R A Puram which  made a good showing last year, scored 203 losing 6 wickets in 48.2 overs.

Chettinad players must thank Vignesh Umamaheswaran for scoring 54 runs with 6 fours in that play and Shyam Sunder who made 32 runs (photos below).

<< Reportage and photos of the final will be posted here. Share your comments here >>

No tags for this post.