Lok Sabha elections: DMK’s Thamizhachi Thangapandian elected in Chennai South

The DMK’s T. Sumathy alias Thamizhachi Thangapandian has been declared elected as MP of Chennai South in elections to the Lok Sabha. Polling took place on April 18 in the city.

It was a long drawn counting process on Thursday, ending past 11 p.m.
Thamizhachi polled 5,58,938 votes.

The AIADMK’s Dr J Jayavardan, sitting MP polled 2,99,557 votes. Makkal Needhi Maiam’s Rangarajan polled 1,33,975.

NOTA votes were high – 16,704.

Counting took place at the College of Engineering at 8 a.m.amidst heavy security with police driving away party members who wished to hang around the gates of this campus; they then hung inside the Gandhi Mandapam campus even as the day temperatures began to rise.

The DMK candidate took an early lead and this grew bigger and bigger as the rounds of counting progressed ending close to midnight with 21 rounds of counting.

Thamizhachi stepped outside the counting centre to pose for mediamen at about 8 p.m. and when it was all over DMK cadres were at hand to shake hands, raise slogans and present flowers to the victor.

Almost 95% of the Mylapore zone falls under Chennai South.

A sliver of the area off TTK Road falls under Chennai Central where the DMK candidate Dayananidhi Maran won easily getting over 4.40 lakh votes.

No tags for this post.