Maha Sivarathri: Temples, music and dance, spiritual shows


It will be a festive evening at Sri Kapaleeswarar Temple on Saturday. The celebrations commence at 4 pm with nandi abhisekam on the occasion of sani pradosham followed by a procession inside the temple.  The Maha Sivarathri abhisekam will start at 11.30pm and the four kaalam events will go on to early Sunday morning. 

 At both Velleeswarar and Appar Temples, the four kaalam abhisekam will start at 10pm. The same is the case with the other Sivan temples in the Mylapore zone.


 A nine-day Maha Sivarathri celebration will take place at Bommai Chathiram on South Mada Street starting Saturday morning. Celebrations include Anna Dhanam today (Feb 18), Chandi Yaagam on Sunday morning, Kanda Sashti Parayanam on Tuesday, Nava Koti Sahasranama Parayanam and Vidya Abhivridhi Pooja on Sat (Feb 25) evening.


The HR & CE Department and the team at Sri Kapali Temple have arranged a celebration for Shivarathri at the P. S. School ground off R. K. Mutt Road. Starting Feb.18. 6 pm to 6 am. Nagaswaram, Thirumurai recitation, classical and folk dances, patti mandram and a string of performances have been lined up. Open to all.


SaMaa Arts LLC and VVS Foundation hosts ‘Mangala Sivarathri’ –  featuring nagaswara and thavil vidwans. An akhandam beginning at 6pm on Feb 18 and concluding at 6am on Feb 19. At Sri Velleswarar Temple, Mylapore. Mylai Karthikeyan helped the hosts to fix the musicians for this series.


Senior theatre and film actor S S Kalairaani is presenting a dance-act piece of the famed ‘Varugalamo’ song from Nandanar Charitram by Gopalakrishna Bharathi. At Sri Malleeswarar Temple, Mylapore, 10.45 pm on Feb.18. For about 35 minutes.

Dance concerts are also being held at some temples through the night.


Mahasivarathri Akandam of Carnatic music has been scheduled at Arkay Centre, Luz on Feb.18, from 3 pm to 6 am the next day. Madhuradhwani and Carnatica are jointly curating this event. Among the artistes performing here are – 

3.15pm: Thirumeignanam Brothers (T.K.R. Ayyappan & T.K.R.Meenakshisundaram) (nadaswaram): 4.15pm: Kruthi Bhat: 5.45pm: G.Ravikiran: 6.30pm: Nisha Rajagopalan: 9.30pm: R.K.Shriramkumar, Shreya Devnath, K.Arunprakash, Chandrasekara Sharma: 10.15pm: Shertallay K. N. Renganatha Sharma: 11.00pm: Amritha Murali: 11.45pm: Brindha Manickavasakan: 1.15am: Vignesh Ishwar: 2.00am: Ashwath Narayanan: 3.30am: Jayalakshmi Sekhar (Veena) / Thyagarajan Ramani (Flute): 5.00am: Spoorthi Rao.

Classical music concerts are also being held at Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Mylapore.

  • Contributed by S. Prabhu and MT Edit Team
  • Photo is of actor S S Kalairaani who is presenting a dance-act piece on the famed ‘Varugalamo’ song

Join the Conversation, leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *